Online Help
You are here: Blueprints > Blueprint Workspace
The Blueprint menu enables you to view the blueprint's properties, save the blueprint as a template and export it as a package. The blueprint's display name. Click the name to change.The blueprint's current privacy setting. Click the button to change.Click to reserve the blueprint. Note: This option is not available in blueprints defined as "view-only." The workspace view mode. Diagram view provides a graphical representation of the blueprint. List view displays the blueprint's elements in a list. You can filter the list using the search field, and sort the list by clicking the desired column name.Click the Resource, App / Service, or Abstract button to add the suitable resource to your blueprint.Review the blueprint’s instructions. This option is available only if the blueprint has instructions. Click more...Show the diagram in a mini-map on the workspace. You can drag the map to change the view in the workspace.Displays all the blueprint workspace tools and options in a pane. See the image below.The canvas displays the different resources, services and Apps in the blueprint and enables you to perform different actions on the blueprint and its elements.Displays the Add Resource pane, where you can search for resources in the inventory and add them to the blueprint.Displays the Add App/Service pane, where you can search for apps or services in the inventory and add them to the blueprint.Displays the Add Abstract Resource pane, where you can search for abstract resources in the inventory and add them to the blueprint.Displays the blueprint's instruction sidebar that explains the concepts and usage to the user.Displays the blueprint's commands attached to resources.Options to change the size of the icons in the workspace.Options to arrange the elements in the diagram.Saves the current diagram layout as the default for this blueprint.Reverts to the previous snapshot of the diagram layout that was previously saved. Note:  Saving the layout of a sandbox will not affect the original blueprint. Saving a new layout for a blueprint will not affect any existing sandboxes.Review the blueprint's commands. CloudShell's blueprint template includes preconfigured setup and teardown commands.Position elements in the diagram to the closest intersection of the grid.Toggle left or right to zoom in or out of the workspace.Enter the zoom percentage. Default is %100.Displays labels that are currently being used in the diagram. Displays a mini-map of the diagram on the workspace. You can drag the map to change the view in the workspace.Displays the Connections Legend, showing the different connection types.

Blueprint Workspace

The workspace enables you to create and configure your blueprint. This includes adding available resources, Apps, services and connectivity requirements, and configuring their settings for the blueprint. You can also view or update the blueprint's properties (depending on your permissions).

Navigating the blueprint workspace

In the image below, hover over an area or option to learn more about it, or use the table that follows.

Blueprint Diagram view

Diagram view is the default view for the blueprint. It enables you to add elements to your blueprint, such as resources and Apps, define connectivity requirements between these elements, and set the blueprint's properties, including description, image, blueprint categories, orchestration, instructions and inputs.

In Diagram view you can also view blueprint and resource commands.

Blueprint List view

List view displays the blueprint's elements and their sub-resources in a list.

For more information, see Blueprint List View.

Reserving a blueprint

When reserving a blueprint, you can define certain properties of the sandbox and may need to provide information for resource provisioning and automation processes.

If there's a resource or scheduling conflict, CloudShell will offer available time slots for the sandbox. For additional information about sandboxes and reservation conflicts, see Creating Sandboxes.

Note: Blueprints of type ‘view’ cannot be reserved.

To create an immediate or future sandbox:

  1. In the Blueprint Catalog, on the required blueprint tile, click Reserve. Alternatively, in the blueprint workspace, click the Reserve button.

    The Reserve dialog box is displayed.

    Note: The timezone for the sandbox is indicated in the title of the Reserve dialog box.

  2. In the Schedule field, you can set the required sandbox duration or specify the explicit start and/or end time. Use the Calendar button to set future dates.
  3. Note: If a maximum duration was set for the sandbox, the user will not be able to reserve for a duration beyond this setting.

  4. To have this sandbox repeat in a series, click Add Recurrence. If this option is missing, the admin needs to enable it using the EnableRecurringReservation key.

    The Recurrence page is displayed.

    1. To have the sandbox repeat on specific days, click the Pattern field and either select the days or select Daily to have the sandbox repeat on all days of the week.
    2. In the Range field, define the period in which the sandbox will repeat.
  5. Optionally, change the Name of the sandbox. By default, the new sandbox name is the blueprint name.

    Note: The sandbox’s name has a limit of 60 characters.

  6. In the Blueprint field, you can see the blueprint on which the sandbox is based. Once reserved, it is not possible to change the blueprint for the active sandbox.
  7. To specify additional options, click the Advanced Form button.

    The advanced form enables you to configure the email notifications, permissions and other options.

    1. Optionally, enter a Description. Otherwise, the description of the sandbox will default to the blueprint description.
    2. To define an owner for the sandbox, click the Owner and select the required user. By default, the user who initiated the scheduling action is set as the sandbox owner.

    3. Instead of changing the owner of the sandbox, you can permit additional users to use the sandbox. Click the Permitted Users section and select the users you wish to add.

    4. You can configure CloudShell to send email notifications to the owner of the sandbox and permitted users.

      Note: This capability requires the administrator to activate the email notifications feature using the ReservationEmail configuration keys.

      1. Click the Email Notifications field.

        The Email Notifications area expands.

      2. Configure the email notification settings.

        • On start - Sends notification as the sandbox starts.
        • On setup complete - Sends notification when the sandbox setup completes.
        • Before end - Sends notification before the Teardown process begins. The exact time is decided by the user.
        • On end - Sends when the sandbox ends.
  8. If the blueprint has inputs, you will be asked to provide them.
  9. Click Reserve.

    The sandbox is being reserved.

    If any resource is unavailable for the scheduled time slot, the Conflicts dialog box is displayed, proposing an alternative time slot, as described in Dealing with conflicts.

    The new sandbox is displayed in Diagram view with a blue Sandbox label at the top of the canvas and a green Active icon in the toolbar:

    If you have a license for the Save and Restore paid add-on, you will see a Save Sandbox button. For more information, see the Sandbox Save and Restore Overview.